My “Welcome Home” Visit in La Grange, IL

A Special Blog Post from Jim Gillespie, CEO, Coldwell Banker Real Estate.

Jim Gillespie, CEO, Coldwell Banker Real Estate at the La Grange Office.

You can go home again.

That’s the feeling I had when the great agents and manager Tricia McEneaney-Riberto at Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage in La Grange, Illinois welcomed me back with open arms yesterday.

I started my real estate career 37 years ago in the town as an agent with Gallery of Homes. I then moved to Thorsen Realtors which was soon acquired by Coldwell Banker.  This began my 36 year love affair with our great brand.

As you know on Friday I announced that effective January 1 I will turn the CEO reigns over to our current president and chief operating officer Budge Huskey and I will assume a new role as chairman emeritus.

So it was fitting and very exciting to me that my first traveling after the announcement would be to the Coldwell Banker Expo in Chicago for all of Fran Broude’s Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage agents in Chicagoland.

What made the trip even more fun for me was Tricia’s request for me to visit LaGrange. Wow! What a great day.

Jim in front of the second sale in his career.

I saw some old friends, drove by the locations of old offices I worked in, went to see a home I used to live in and some of my earliest listings and sales.

After nearly four decades with Coldwell Banker, I can safely say that the people in our brand are absolutely amazing. And today showed it.

I walked into the office to the sound of my University of Illinois fight song playing. Tricia and her team had Fighting Illini and White Sox flags flying, the Village President Liz Asperger even welcomed me home.

It was really special and I can’t thank Tricia and Fran enough for making me feel so welcomed!

Read more about this special visit!

Leave a Reply

