New Dreams Can Happen Anytime

Mark Kloss, Branch Manager, Park Ridge

On January 15, 2008 I was diagnosed with a carcinoid tumor in my lower left lobe and lung. If you don’t already know, carcinoid cancer is usually small, slow growing tumors found mostly in the gastrointestinal system, but can be in other parts of the body such as the pancreas and the lung. Only 2 short weeks later, on February 1, 2008 I had the tumor and my lower left lobe surgically removed. Needless to say, this health situation not only changed my dreams but also created a new one for me.

After the surgery, my son, Matt, who was 25 years old at the time said “Dad, you have a second chance at life. We are going to run the Chicago Marathon together on October 10, 2010.” I told him he was crazy. I’m not a runner. I had never run in any type of organized race in my life. But actually, that didn’t matter, what mattered was taking control of my life and accomplishing my new goal. Matt helped me train and set my goal. We had the support of our family, friends, colleagues, and my agents. All of the ongoing support and encouragement made me keep going. And, on October 10, 2010 I ran the Chicago Marathon in 4 hours 45 minutes and 43 seconds at the age of 51.

Your dreams will change, you will create new dreams, and with hard work, dedication and a tremendous amount of support they can be accomplished.

4 thoughts on “New Dreams Can Happen Anytime

  1. Great Job Mark,,, I to have a simular story, On July 7th 2001 I had a heart attack. Around October 1st 2001 I started rehad at a health club in Munster Indiana. I watched people run and I thought I can do that. In October 2002 I signed up for the 2003 Chicago Marathon. I ran every year since then. I am doing the 2012 Chicago marathon which will be my 16th marathon and my 10th Chicago. Both of us can relate to the feeling that you get from crossing that 26.2 mile finish line. Again GREAT JOB !!! Jim Oster,,

  2. Mark,

    What an inspiration for others! Thanks for sharing. I too was diagnosed with prostate cancer at the ripe old age of 47 in 2004. Its 12 years later and still goin strong!

    Steven Sims

Leave a Reply

